Reviews


Thorsten H. on 08/22/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Bass - Customization Tool
Got a Custom 4-String Fretless Bass-Guitar. The service is exemplary, the correspondence was prompt, friendly and always helpful. My instrument is built perfectly and sounds absolutely amazing. Even the manufacturing process was astoundingly fast. I couldn´t imagine a better company for building your dream instrument, that´s for sure! I had a wonderful experience, hence there´s no need for any improvement as far as I´m concerned. Thank you very much, it was a pleasure!
  • Overall Rating5
Daniel R. on 08/16/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a custom 6 string guitar and I love it. The service has been nothing short of fantastic. The only place I can think of for improvement is communication in the middle stages. The early stages when the guitar was being designed I had a lot of back and forth making sure everything was correct The end stages also had a lot of communication with the completion of the guitar. Additionally I would recommend that for the custom shop on the website you might want to consider adding some guides explaining the differences for some of the options, as some players may not be as informed on things like multi scale frets, tone woods, or scale length. You guys do really great work and I'm telling everyone. This guitar is far and away superior to any other I have ever held or played.
  • Overall Rating5
Gottfried L. on 08/13/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a Halo XSI. Looks fine, sounds like as i imagined in my mind and have a good fretboard.
The own design was also implemented very well.
Only the long delivery time just dims the joy a little bit about it.
  • Overall Rating4
Robbie on 08/02/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Halo Baritone - Absolutely love this guitar, totally unique and definitely a looker while also being a player. The baritone length gives it the articulation and punch I've been after, one single volume knob and pickup keeps it all simple. It didn't take me anytime to adjust to playing this one!! I think Halo is pretty much at the highest Tier it can be. The service is great, the guitars are fantastic and are affordable. Not to mention the fact their instruments are extremely versatile :) this one's definitely built for metal but how easily I was able to get some fuzzed out bluesy doom from it made me happy. If you've ever thought about buying a Halo-Don't Hesitate. They're worth it!! One of my favorite bands was endorsed by them and have been following them since.
  • Overall Rating5
Pete K. on 08/01/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a Salvus with a 1 7/8ths nut width; jumbo frets; ebony fretboard;. 20” fretboard radius; tummy/forearm contour; the bridge pickup to be angled; 2 Bare Knuckle cobra pickups; 1 Lace Alumitone 6-string humbucker; with Thomastik-Infeld George Benson Nickel Flat Wound Jazz Guitar Strings. LOVE IT!! I think Halo is just fine as is, but, carrying case could have been a better fit.
  • Overall Rating5
Anonymous on 07/23/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a Salvus-6. It is a very well made guitar, and it looks exactly like the graphic from the Customization Tool. I've used it in concert and it's comfortable to play, sounds great, and draws lots of attention.
  • Overall Rating5
Sebastien on 07/20/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Bass - Customization Tool
Ordered a Custom made replacement bass body. Overall, the Halo Guitars team did a very good job! The replacement bass body is well done, very lightweight (for a swamp ash body) and 100% accurate (I provided a picture showing the dimensions and specifications). The only thing that I could have said is the waiting time period that was a little bit too long. While it has been a while coming, it is well worth the wait. A big thanks to the Halo Guitars customer service which has been keeping me informed when it was needed!
  • Overall Rating5
JVH on 07/13/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a Clarus 6 made to my specifications, plays sounds and looks excellent, fine work! Maybe better planning and status tracking can be an improvement.
  • Overall Rating5
Zakk M. on 07/10/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a custom Clarus and I absolutely love it!
  • Overall Rating5
Kelley Nelson on 06/29/2018 Purchased: SALVUS - 6-string, 25.5" Scale, Evertune, Natural
I've owned many guitars over my 30+ year playing span; nothing has come close to the service & product I received from Jeff & crew at Halo Guitars. I can honestly say it was the best guitar experience I've had. I have no idea (how Halo could improve), the guitar, craftsmanship and service was all top notch.
  • Overall Rating5
Valtteri L. on 06/23/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a Halo Custom 6 string guitar, and I absolutely love it, it is without a doubt the best guitar I have ever held in my hands! The quality and feel of the guitar is beyond incredible! Maybe inform how the build is going a bit more often, like once or twice. I just suddenly got a message that the guitar was ready, without even knowing how the build was making progress. But other than that, there's nothing to complain, everything went very well! I would also like to mention that the customer service at Halo is great! All of my questions about ordering the guitar were answered very fast, special instructions for the build were executed perfectly and overall it was really pleasing to do business!
  • Overall Rating5
fcschindel on 06/11/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a Varial electric guitar. Craftmanship is fine - obviously handmade. Could have more exact, deeper information on website. I recommend.
  • Overall Rating5
Victoria T. (Marki Microwave) on 06/05/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
We absolutely love it! Jeff was incredibly helpful throughout the whole process. I would highly recommend Halo Custom Guitars because of the overall quality of the instrument and his outstanding customer service!
  • Overall Rating5
Casey J. on 06/05/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a 7 string TJ model and would recommend Halo. Could improve the mockup of the guitars via the Design Your Own online page doesn't reflect the actual color. My guitar was all around slightly darker. There was a small flaw on my neck that was inconsequential to me, but may have not been for another customer. The setup on my guitar was very close to what I like when I received it.
  • Overall Rating4
Johnnie B. on 05/29/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a guitar made to my specs (Order #2113). I like it very well. I was happy with my experience.
  • Overall Rating5
Anonymous on 04/26/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a custom guitar, love it!! To improve, speed up the process.
  • Overall Rating5
Edgar De la torre on 04/23/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Amazing Jazz Guitar, I just love it! The whole guitar crafstmanship is perfectly done, well balanced with beauty and presicion.There's not a single mistake at all regarding construction, tunning or playability. The best guitar I ever had in my 30 year career. Thanks again Halo team, SUPER PROFESSIONALS. Maybe the delivery date could be more accurate? Still, the wait was well worth it.
  • Overall Rating5
Lucas K. on 04/17/2018 Purchased: SERAPHIM - 8-string, 28"-25.5" Multi-Scale, Natural
The guitar came in on Saturday and so far I have absolutely no complaints, it is everything I expected and more. There was slight shipping damage, the plastic 3-way switch knob was cracked off but I had replacements laying around from a previous restoration,other than that I have not had any issues. It plays great and the quality seems fantastic. You guys have been a pleasure to purchase from and I will definitely be recommending you to others! Besides the quality of the guitar I appreciate the customer service and I would say 5/5
  • Overall Rating5
This is a masterful tool of its craft. I'm utterly grateful to be using this in my arsenal for my new creative process. It is absolutely stunning to look at and even more graceful to hear when I play it. This guitar fits me like a glove. It has power and punch to deliver those deep lows and has plenty capacity to play beautiful and elegant softs. I will cherish this piece and use it to it's full capability. Thank you! I give it a 6/5!
  • Overall Rating5
Mike T. on 04/09/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I have ordered 2 custom guitars with Halo, the latest one is a Salvus guitar with an Evertune bridge and Seymour Duncan pick ups. I love this guitar. Its is everything I could ask for. Expectations for the timeline on delivery of the guitar can improve. I did receive the 2nd guitar within 7 months of ordering. The 1st guitar took 11+months for delivery because of complications overseas. But, I am glad I waited because that is my main guitar and couldn't ask for anything better.
  • Overall Rating5
Ivan on 03/20/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a Seraphim 6 strings ash body, spalted maple top. First impression was that the guitar was quite heavy and the neck felt a bit chunky but after a couple of days playing... oh man... everything made sense, what a joy, very confortable and it sounds beautifully, with very pwerful and at the same time very clear sound. Perhaps it would be nice to be notified of any delays on the expected build time. But I understand you are busy guys!
  • Overall Rating5
Nick W. on 03/16/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a custom Merus 7 string, It's an amazing instrument, sounds and plays better than i expected it to, absolutely gorgeous finish and very, very solid build quality, no blemishes anywhere, perfect fretwork, I took my fret rocker and checked, every fret was perfect. Very neat soldering in the electronics, and I had an excellent experience with the customer service. More available body shapes, pictures throughout the build process could be ways for Halo to improve further. Other than that, nothing that i can think of, all of my questions were answered by the great communication i had via email throughout the whole process.
  • Overall Rating5
I love this guitar. It’s one of the best guitars I have and the only one that is professionally set up so it beat my expectations... a completely satisfied costumer... and I will be looking forward to ordering from you guys in the near future.
  • Overall Rating5
Daniel N. on 03/14/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a custom Salvus Semi-hollow, which I absolutely love. I'm able to dial up any guitar sound imaginable on any record with the mix of Tele and Strat pickups and humbucker along with the 25.5" neck and 24 frets. The workmanship is outstanding for the price and Jeff and his team are willing to do what it takes to make sure you're satisfied with what you receive. I would recommend Halo to a friend. My only two issues were the time it took to receive the guitar (roughly a year) and especially the lack of communication throughout the process. However, once I voiced my frustrations to Jeff he was extremely understanding and did whatever was within his power to ensure I was happy and informed the rest of the way. Thanks for bringing my dream custom guitar to life, I truly appreciate the effort and quality of the work you guys did!!
  • Overall Rating4
Anon on 03/09/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Bass - Customization Tool
At the end of the day, Halo guitars love guitars and try their best to deliver customized guitars.
There are a few takeaways that new customers should be aware of:
1) They're not experienced with creating graphics. After already being charged, It took me 2 months to nail down a design and I had to do most of the design legwork.
2) They will be late with the delivery. They're a small shop and almost never turn down orders. They will make mistakes. My order was delayed 3 months even after periodically (3 months gap) checking in. I was given the same excuse multiple times 'letting the guitar adjust for a week' and ultimately they told me they forgot.

Although Halo does have these drawbacks, I would still order from them again. The guitar plays great and I have a more realistic insight on what to expect when dealing with Halo.

HALO ADMIN RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback as it will help us improve.

1) Regarding graphics, as of February of this year (2018), we switched over to a new substrate and process for applying custom graphics to all our instruments. The result is the final product is even better than before because it conforms to more contours, can be applied over top transparent finishes, cuts cleaner, adheres better, and is significantly thinner overall. We experimented successfully with several guitars last year using this new process so it is now our standard process for all guitars ordered with custom graphics moving forward.

2) We are a small shop indeed. Last year, we brought in a new Production Manager to improve processes and implement changes so we could build better guitars faster and on schedule. We are just now starting to see the results of the changes and we're doing much better in this area.

Thank you again

- Jeff Lee, Halo Custom Guitars
P.S. please contact me if you place another order and I'll be glad to apply a discount

  • Overall Rating3