Reviews


Art on 02/02/2016 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
This thing causes more drool in my daily routine than necessary haha. I love it. I can't wait to finally get a guitar that inspires me visually, as much as it does tonally.

Really should consider a new finish for the body tops, though. It's not easy, I know, but I was thinking of 'illusions' or 'unique' and have patterns like camouflage, maybe spirals similar to what Jackson use to have on the Dinky's, things that aren't just as simple as solids and metallicas, and maybe some of the vintage colors like surf/seafoam green, too

Also, a couple of more bodies. I love the custom bodies, but most of them look really uncomfortable for the thigh when you're sitting there. I haven't tried these though, so this is purely speculation.

Maybe also have 'burst' and 'dual burst' where you can choose two colors to fade into bursts around the edge? I'm not sure how it'll work, but I look at the red and black and wonder if purple and black and others would look cool, too. maybe a couple more headstock designs, too, but i'm not complaining, its hard to think what would make this 'better' because it's awesome

Truly unique configurations that you can see, in stead of 'guess' like "other custom multiple choice options on the internet" (leaving the name out)

I come here too often to 'day dream' about my next build haha
  •  5
aiden on 01/28/2016 Purchased: Halo Custom Bass - Customization Tool
would be cool if you could choose to have light up LED inlays in the neck
  •  5
Josh on 01/21/2016 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
A great tool to try out ideas. I always come here to fool around with different designs. I will definitely one day commit a design and go through the order process.

-Can see in nice detail a preview of the guitar you are building.
-Nice selection of pickups.
-Great choice of tops, colours and finishes.

My main complaint (also the reason I haven't given it 5 stars), and I've pretty much seen it said to death in other reviews, is the in-ability to view the back of the guitar. It really would help out a whole lot during the whole design process to visualise, as it could make or break the whole design of a guitar.
Wether it be the front of the guitar at the top and the back below that, or a button to press to flip to the back view. Either would be more than enough.
  •  4
Jake Anastasi on 01/17/2016 Purchased: Bare Knuckle Pickups - Customization Tool
I think people are forgetting (or unaware) that Halo and BKP are not the same companies. They unfortunately can't just 'add' more colours to a product that isn't their own.

Advantages: - Looks great
- Not seen anything like this done before

Disadvantages: - Would be nice to be able to integrate this directly with custom guitar builder, however there are now more options for pickups in the custom guitar builder, and i'm sure you are working on the integration side already.
  •  5
Jesse on 01/14/2016 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Great tool! I couldn't find anything else online with more options that offers a realistic result. I've been on this thing for hours

-Theres a Jazzmaster style shape called the TJ!
- Multi-scale, extended range, and even headless options
-Lots of pickup choices


-Not a lot of colors

-No Explorer style shape (the chain breaker is too extreme for me to consider it an explorer shape)

-Needs some more head stock options

-If you add a single coil pickup between two humbuckers, you can see that the single coil pickup isn't centered
  •  5
narcis on 01/12/2016 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
i love guitar



  •  5
Matty Aye on 01/10/2016 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
All of the shapes look amazing but you should add an explorer type shape

Looks amazing

Nada
  •  5
Aric Fowler on 01/09/2016 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
This is probably one of the best virtual guitar builders online, and I have had almost no problems creating guitars.

Very few limitations on guitar building, and most designs can be done.

There are no P90 pickups, and there is a relatively limited color palette. In addition, I have experienced problems trying to change body styles, and for some reason it won't process the Octavia model.
  •  5
uKultuR Forsmo on 01/05/2016 Purchased: Bare Knuckle Pickups - Customization Tool
GENIOUS!
But faulty

Advantages: Fun.
Versatile.
MANY options.

Disadvantages: Fault when selecting conporary PU, not all PUs are shown.
Wish for Soapbar Covers for six string vesion.
Not covers for 8String
  •  4
Brendan Christie on 12/27/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
My custom made 7 string VG is a beautifully powerful guitar. Jeff and the gang over at Halo guitars took my ideas and brought them to life. I cant stop playing it and even just looking at it.

great team that listens to your ideas
pretty good feedback on questions
guitar plays like a dream

Few minor setbacks during the ordering process
  •  4
Dylan Myhill on 12/23/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I have had great fun creating blues-rock based/Billy Bibbons based guitars. I think what you are doing is awesome and the prices are fairly decent too

loads of differewnt shapes
awseome colour schemes

P90's def there arent any!
CreamT pickups u def need those
SG shape definetley need this
Cheers
  •  5
Jeremy Constanzo on 12/21/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
This is a great guitar customizer with lots of details and an amazing representation. The only thing that it needs more of in my opinion are more body shapes.



  •  5
Trevor brown on 12/13/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Great! Lots of fun to use, lots of options, but some are missing. Tv jones pickups would be great, you should show the straplocs and kill switches and coil splits on the guitar, and more bodies would really do the trick. An SG shape would be incredible, and vintage knobs on guitars, not just basses. One other thing, definitely add a view changer.

Shows lots of detail

Somewhat limited
  •  5
Liam Spade on 12/11/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Swagalicious

Super swagalicious

A little too swagalicious
  •  5
Now that I've had it and played it constantly for over a month now I can say that this is truly a great guitar. The neck is amazing and comfortable, I can play 5+ hrs a day with no fatigue or discomfort.
The sound is just unreal. I was hoping for an all metal guitar but the range and clean channel on this guitar just blew me out of the water and I'm ending up not even writing heavy music with it right now. The Aftermaths are so much more than I thought they would be and the range all over the spectrum is just incredible!

The features and finish of the guitar are also 10\10. No lack of quality, no imperfections and the most stunning colors that just pop the eye!
I wanted a Viking Ship on the neck and the body to look like the deep ocean where it could sail into oblivion if it wanted and Halo absolutely delivered on my ideas. The action is low but there's no buzz which is crazy to me considering how low it is. It's setup to perfection from the guys at Halo.

All in all I could not be happier with the service from the company, the quality of the instrument and the reasonably quick build and turnaround time for such a detailed undertaking that mine had.

Advantages: Sound, Sustain, Quality, Playability.

Disadvantages: Solid Mahogany is heavy so if you don't like a weighty, meaty guitar, have it chambered or choose a specific lighter wood.
My preference was heavy for the extra sustain and depth that solid Mahogany construction provides
  •  5
DJ Monopoli on 12/09/2015 Purchased: MERUS - 7-String, 27'' Scale, Evertune, Juggernauts
This is quite literally the best guitar I have ever played in my entire life. It looks great, feels great, and sounds amazing! That aside though, what makes this guitar shine is the EverTune bridge. It simply stays in tune. Before I had a guitar with EverTune, during recording I would have to tune my guitar before pretty much every take to make sure it's in tune and strum lightly on rhythm parts to make sure the chords don't go sharp or I knock it out of tune quicker. EverTune fixes both of these problems and has honestly spoiled me. I generally check the tuning once before recording and it stays in tune for the entire session. Also you can set it up so no matter how hard you strum the guitar the chords will never go sharp when you strike the strings. As a result everything is always in tune, the rhythm guitar parts have more energy, and my creativity is at an all time high because I spend less time getting distracted with tuning and more time recording. I haven't brought this guitar on the road yet, but I'm confident the EverTune bridge will make things a breeze. I only have good things to say about this guitar.

Advantages: Sounds great
Looks great
Plays great
Never goes out of tune

Disadvantages: There really isn't any disadvantages. The only thing I can think of is changing tunings with an EverTune bridge requires a key instead of simply turning the tuning pegs, but that's a small price to pay for all of the advantages that come with having an EverTune bridge.
  •  5
J. Eagle on 12/08/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
A lot of critiquing over a lack of angle shots but I haven't seen another site that does this feature better

Delivers a realistic image of the guitar you're creating.

Like others, there needs to be a P90 option. I personally would like a BLH semi hollow with a SD Antiquity bridge and an SD Phat Cat P90 neck pup. Additionally the Covenant and BLH scream for a Bigsby.
Last, the prices are very high. That puts them in Gretsch/Gibson pricing range but without any resale value
  •  5
Teun on 12/08/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
It is so cool to make your own guitar.
It Brings a lot of inspiration and options

You can build your own guitar and have so many little details, like how many frets to the scale of your fretboard. There are hollowbody versions of many style bodies. And there is a good assortiment of pick-ups.

I love doing this and will buy one soon when I have searched for all the details and kind of woods are cool to combine.

It is pretty expensive for something you can't really see the back and side of.

Also it would be cool if you could have new body styles like SG and have more tremolo styles like Bigsby.

The scale length doesnt change when you click on a diffrent length, so sometimes it looks kinda silly on the picture while in real it would look pretty bad-ass.
Middle pickups arent that many.
  •  5
It's amazing. Literally the best guitar I've ever played. I actually feel spoiled by it haha. I wish I had a 6 string version of it as well to be honest and I would have no use for any of my other guitars haha.
  • Overall Rating5
Mrbungledisco on 11/27/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I love the customization tool. I am able to build *almost* anything that I like, but definitely more than other custom builders allow for.

*Mix and match bodies, necks, hardware; completely customizable
*Fanned Fret option
*Premium Parts


*No angled pickup option in neck, middle, or bridge positions
*Cutaways for 27 fret models do not have all access
*No piezo pickup in the bridge option for floating tremolo
*No option for neck profiles (that I saw)
  •  5
Alejandro on 11/17/2015 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Awesome tool!


b0ss!!

*Angled pickups for multiscale models
*Dem bindings [bites lower lip]


*Different camera angles
*Halo pickups in cream for 7 and 8 strings
*Birdseye maple freatboards?
*Pink finishes pls
  •  5
best guitar ever u guys have really stepped it up, love it!!!!!
  •  5
Damos Walcott on 11/02/2015 Purchased: Bare Knuckle Pickups - Customization Tool
The visualization is pretty awesome. They look accurate and there are some awesome options.

Advantages: -Cool interface
-Lots of selections
-Good models

Disadvantages: -Add more color options like orange
-Integrate this with the custom guitar builder
-Add an option to make a zebra pattern with any color combo
  •  5
You can feel the quality right when you pick it up and run your fingers across the frets. The tone difference between the highs and lows is huge in the best way. Playability was easy and the transition was smooth. It felt even more comfortable than a conventional neck. Altogether I have no complaints. A great guitar all around.

Advantages: The new guitars are awesome I've been using them a lot on this tour.
  •  5
Ruben Alvarez on 10/27/2015 Purchased: MERUS - Baritone, 7-String, TOM, WHITE
The Merus is a sturdy sleek design that gets the job done. Sometimes simplicity is best and this is my go-to because of that.

Advantages: It has great tone and feels perfect slammed down to the frets. The Seymour Duncan Blackouts complement the baritone and bring out the low end nice.
  •  4