Reviews


JVH on 07/13/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a Clarus 6 made to my specifications, plays sounds and looks excellent, fine work! Maybe better planning and status tracking can be an improvement.
  • Overall Rating5
Zakk M. on 07/10/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a custom Clarus and I absolutely love it!
  • Overall Rating5
Kelley Nelson on 06/29/2018 Purchased: SALVUS - 6-string, 25.5" Scale, Evertune, Natural
I've owned many guitars over my 30+ year playing span; nothing has come close to the service & product I received from Jeff & crew at Halo Guitars. I can honestly say it was the best guitar experience I've had. I have no idea (how Halo could improve), the guitar, craftsmanship and service was all top notch.
  • Overall Rating5
Valtteri L. on 06/23/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a Halo Custom 6 string guitar, and I absolutely love it, it is without a doubt the best guitar I have ever held in my hands! The quality and feel of the guitar is beyond incredible! Maybe inform how the build is going a bit more often, like once or twice. I just suddenly got a message that the guitar was ready, without even knowing how the build was making progress. But other than that, there's nothing to complain, everything went very well! I would also like to mention that the customer service at Halo is great! All of my questions about ordering the guitar were answered very fast, special instructions for the build were executed perfectly and overall it was really pleasing to do business!
  • Overall Rating5
fcschindel on 06/11/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a Varial electric guitar. Craftmanship is fine - obviously handmade. Could have more exact, deeper information on website. I recommend.
  • Overall Rating5
Victoria T. (Marki Microwave) on 06/05/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
We absolutely love it! Jeff was incredibly helpful throughout the whole process. I would highly recommend Halo Custom Guitars because of the overall quality of the instrument and his outstanding customer service!
  • Overall Rating5
Casey J. on 06/05/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a 7 string TJ model and would recommend Halo. Could improve the mockup of the guitars via the Design Your Own online page doesn't reflect the actual color. My guitar was all around slightly darker. There was a small flaw on my neck that was inconsequential to me, but may have not been for another customer. The setup on my guitar was very close to what I like when I received it.
  • Overall Rating4
Johnnie B. on 05/29/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a guitar made to my specs (Order #2113). I like it very well. I was happy with my experience.
  • Overall Rating5
Anonymous on 04/26/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a custom guitar, love it!! To improve, speed up the process.
  • Overall Rating5
Edgar De la torre on 04/23/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Amazing Jazz Guitar, I just love it! The whole guitar crafstmanship is perfectly done, well balanced with beauty and presicion.There's not a single mistake at all regarding construction, tunning or playability. The best guitar I ever had in my 30 year career. Thanks again Halo team, SUPER PROFESSIONALS. Maybe the delivery date could be more accurate? Still, the wait was well worth it.
  • Overall Rating5
Lucas K. on 04/17/2018 Purchased: SERAPHIM - 8-string, 28"-25.5" Multi-Scale, Natural
The guitar came in on Saturday and so far I have absolutely no complaints, it is everything I expected and more. There was slight shipping damage, the plastic 3-way switch knob was cracked off but I had replacements laying around from a previous restoration,other than that I have not had any issues. It plays great and the quality seems fantastic. You guys have been a pleasure to purchase from and I will definitely be recommending you to others! Besides the quality of the guitar I appreciate the customer service and I would say 5/5
  • Overall Rating5
This is a masterful tool of its craft. I'm utterly grateful to be using this in my arsenal for my new creative process. It is absolutely stunning to look at and even more graceful to hear when I play it. This guitar fits me like a glove. It has power and punch to deliver those deep lows and has plenty capacity to play beautiful and elegant softs. I will cherish this piece and use it to it's full capability. Thank you! I give it a 6/5!
  • Overall Rating5
Mike T. on 04/09/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I have ordered 2 custom guitars with Halo, the latest one is a Salvus guitar with an Evertune bridge and Seymour Duncan pick ups. I love this guitar. Its is everything I could ask for. Expectations for the timeline on delivery of the guitar can improve. I did receive the 2nd guitar within 7 months of ordering. The 1st guitar took 11+months for delivery because of complications overseas. But, I am glad I waited because that is my main guitar and couldn't ask for anything better.
  • Overall Rating5
The guitar is perfect. A real work of art! I especially love the pickup combination...rich and vibrant. The neck is a little thinner than I am used to...but very comfortable...I am adapting very easily. Thanks for a magnificent build with amazing attention to detail. I will recommend Halo Guitars to all! ...their attention to detail and customer service is awesome...great communication.
  • Overall Rating5
Ivan on 03/20/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a Seraphim 6 strings ash body, spalted maple top. First impression was that the guitar was quite heavy and the neck felt a bit chunky but after a couple of days playing... oh man... everything made sense, what a joy, very confortable and it sounds beautifully, with very pwerful and at the same time very clear sound. Perhaps it would be nice to be notified of any delays on the expected build time. But I understand you are busy guys!
  • Overall Rating5
Nick W. on 03/16/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a custom Merus 7 string, It's an amazing instrument, sounds and plays better than i expected it to, absolutely gorgeous finish and very, very solid build quality, no blemishes anywhere, perfect fretwork, I took my fret rocker and checked, every fret was perfect. Very neat soldering in the electronics, and I had an excellent experience with the customer service. More available body shapes, pictures throughout the build process could be ways for Halo to improve further. Other than that, nothing that i can think of, all of my questions were answered by the great communication i had via email throughout the whole process.
  • Overall Rating5
I love this guitar. It’s one of the best guitars I have and the only one that is professionally set up so it beat my expectations... a completely satisfied costumer... and I will be looking forward to ordering from you guys in the near future.
  • Overall Rating5
Daniel N. on 03/14/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
I ordered a custom Salvus Semi-hollow, which I absolutely love. I'm able to dial up any guitar sound imaginable on any record with the mix of Tele and Strat pickups and humbucker along with the 25.5" neck and 24 frets. The workmanship is outstanding for the price and Jeff and his team are willing to do what it takes to make sure you're satisfied with what you receive. I would recommend Halo to a friend. My only two issues were the time it took to receive the guitar (roughly a year) and especially the lack of communication throughout the process. However, once I voiced my frustrations to Jeff he was extremely understanding and did whatever was within his power to ensure I was happy and informed the rest of the way. Thanks for bringing my dream custom guitar to life, I truly appreciate the effort and quality of the work you guys did!!
  • Overall Rating4
Anon on 03/09/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Bass - Customization Tool
At the end of the day, Halo guitars love guitars and try their best to deliver customized guitars.
There are a few takeaways that new customers should be aware of:
1) They're not experienced with creating graphics. After already being charged, It took me 2 months to nail down a design and I had to do most of the design legwork.
2) They will be late with the delivery. They're a small shop and almost never turn down orders. They will make mistakes. My order was delayed 3 months even after periodically (3 months gap) checking in. I was given the same excuse multiple times 'letting the guitar adjust for a week' and ultimately they told me they forgot.

Although Halo does have these drawbacks, I would still order from them again. The guitar plays great and I have a more realistic insight on what to expect when dealing with Halo.

HALO ADMIN RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback as it will help us improve.

1) Regarding graphics, as of February of this year (2018), we switched over to a new substrate and process for applying custom graphics to all our instruments. The result is the final product is even better than before because it conforms to more contours, can be applied over top transparent finishes, cuts cleaner, adheres better, and is significantly thinner overall. We experimented successfully with several guitars last year using this new process so it is now our standard process for all guitars ordered with custom graphics moving forward.

2) We are a small shop indeed. Last year, we brought in a new Production Manager to improve processes and implement changes so we could build better guitars faster and on schedule. We are just now starting to see the results of the changes and we're doing much better in this area.

Thank you again

- Jeff Lee, Halo Custom Guitars
P.S. please contact me if you place another order and I'll be glad to apply a discount

  • Overall Rating3
Octavia-wide neck - love it. I play better on the Octavia guitar compared to an electric-acoustic. The pressure on strings can be soft and it sounds great.
  • Overall Rating5
Love this guitar buying a guitar that fits me has made playing so much easier thank you
  • Overall Rating5
Anonymous on 02/20/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Bass - Customization Tool
The guitar is absolutely beautiful, the craftsmanship is second to none. The instrument was well worth the wait. I'll be a customer for life! Several setbacks outside of Halo guitars control led to a long build time. Not a big deal given the overall complexities of crafting a completely custom instrument. Upfront communication and updates from the company would have been nice. That being said, Jeff was prompt in responding and was always helpful.
  • Overall Rating4
Luke on 01/25/2018 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Customization Tool
Ordered a V. Faster turn around time would be awesome but waiting for a superior product is well understood. Would I recommend Halo to a friend? Yes
  • Overall Rating5
I have been playing guitar since I was eleven and have around twenty Gibson USA, Parker USA, G&L USA, Godin (Canada) and ESP (Japan) guitars.
After playing this Halo TJ-6 for just a few minutes I was amazed at the sound and excellent play ability of this guitar. It is a little on the heavy side, but I can live with that just fine as it has so many other positives that outweigh the weight.
By far the "BEST" playing and sounding guitar I have ever owned!
Right out of the box this thing was set up perfectly, just some slight tuning and she was ready to play. I think I have finally met my perfect match in the guitar world in this instrument. She is finely crafted, beautiful playing and sounding, and an inspiration to hold in my hands. She is to me one of those rare guitars that come to you only once or twice in your life that inspire you to create, and create we shall!
Thank you Jeff Lee and all the great people at Halo. You have inspired me!
  • Overall Rating5
Leo Michel Belanger on 11/24/2017 Purchased: Halo Custom Guitars - Archtop Guitars Customization Tool
WOW thatzSo WOW!!! The guitar of my dreams is being born :) Some behavior not work... like the 8 string fanned and would be nice to have a wider cutaway to access the 27th frets on a scalloped fretboard. No visible Luminlay®. Side Markers to. The 3-ways toggle button should be at the top, near the neck, or it would be better to move any contrôles to the place we want.
I put in attachment the image of a guitar that I try to do with the Archtop Guitars Customization Tool.
I want to say in addition that this tool is really very impressive, and that it must continue in that way.
Really a big thank you Halo Guitars.
Leo Michel Belanger
  • Overall Rating5